Home     Agenda     Registration     Local Info     CURRENT WORKSHOP  

Local Information

Where is NCSA? How do I get there? | Parking at NCSA | Where can I stay in Urbana-Champaign? | Questions

Where is NCSA? How do I get there?

NCSA is on the Urbana-Champaign campus of the University of Illinois. The address is 1205 W. Clark St., Urbana.

The University of Illinois' Willard Airport (CMI) is served by American Airlines (Dallas, Texas, and Chicago, Illinois) and Northwest Airlink (Detroit, Michigan, and Minneapolis, Minnesota).

Other regional airports are: Indianapolis International Airport (IND), Indianapolis, Indiana (120 miles/190 kilometers away); O'Hare International Airport (ORD), Chicago, Illinois (140 miles/220 kilometers away); and Central Illinois Regional Airport (BMI), Bloomington, Illinois (less than 60 miles/100 kilometers away).

You can also reach Champaign-Urbana via Amtrak train or Greyhound bus service. The Lincolnland Express also provides shuttle bus service between Urbana-Champaign and all regional airports and Chicago's Union Station.

Driving directions are available on the NCSA website.

A taxi from Willard Airport to NCSA will cost about $10. The Champaign County Visitors Guide offers information on taxis and other transportation.

Parking at NCSA

Metered parking is available near the NCSA Building on Clark Street, in the parking garage just north of NCSA, and on other surrounding streets. Rates are 75 cents/hour, and the meters accept quarters, dimes, nickels and dollar coins. While you can park all day in the garage, time limits for surrounding streets are usually two hours.

Where can I stay in Urbana-Champaign?

The Hampton Inn at 1200 W. University Ave., Urbana, is just across the street from NCSA.

Check the online Champaign County Visitors Guide for information on other Urbana-Champaign accommodations.


Contact Trish Barker, tlbarker@ncsa.uiuc.edu.



National Center for Supercomputing Applications at the
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

All rights reserved.
©2008 Board of Trustees of the University of Illinois.